Our Team



Elaine McHarg currently serves as Vice President, Philanthropy & Partnerships for the West Vancouver Foundation where she engages local philanthropist and organizations across the North Shore to leverage solutions addressing needs, dreams, and opportunities. In addition, Elaine leads the Foundations’ community strategic insights work including the Vital Signs program.

Her professional experience includes over 15 years in senior executive positions with organizations such as sustainability trailblazer Ethical Funds, Credential Securities (now Aviso), CIBC (Toronto), and North Shore Credit Union (now BlueShore Financial). With 30+ years in the corporate sector Elaine has led strategic planning, national market campaigns, brand and reputation management, socially responsible investing, sales management teams, and technology-based product development. More recently she shifted to the non-profit arena, and over the past eight years has expanded the reputation, awareness, and philanthropic outreach programs for several local organizations.

Elaine is widely recognized for impactful marketing solutions, thoughtful community engagement, and collaborative strategic partnerships. On a limited basis, Elaine also consults (through McHarg Consulting), providing customized, purposeful, and progressive programs to help business and non-profits thrive.

An avid volunteer in the community, McHarg serves on several boards and committees including the West Vancouver Chamber of Commerce (Chair since 2020, Vice Chair 2018-20), West Vancouver’s Community Engagement Committee (since 2016, Vice Chair since 2018), the Touchstone Theatre Board (since 2019), and the West Vancouver Arts Facility Advisory Committee (since 2021).

She and her husband, Dan, moved to West Vancouver in 1995, and now have two adult children. Together they all share a love of the environment, theatre, travel, along with the richness, diversity, and beauty of our West Coast community.

Chamber member since 2012, Board member since 2016, Vice Chair 2018-2020, Chair 2020- present.